Tirtha Yatra

The seven temples of Vrindavana

When Rupa Gosvami and Sanatana Gosvami went to Vrindavana, there was not even a single temple, but by their preaching they were gradually able to construct various temples. Sanatana Gosvami constructed the Madana-mohana temple, and Rupa Gosvami constructed the Govindaji temple. Similarly, their nephew Jiva Gosvami constructed the Radha-Damodara temple, Sri Gopala Bhatta Gosvami constructed the Radha-ramana temple, Sri Lokanatha Gosvami constructed the Gokulananda temple, and Shyamananda Gosvami constructed the Shyamasundara temple. In this way, many temples were gradually constructed. For preaching, construction of temples is also necessary. The Gosvamis not only engaged in writing books but also constructed temples because both are needed for preaching work. (Chaitanya-charitamrita, Adi-lila 7.164)

Today there are around 5000 temples in Vrindavana. And among these temples, the seven temples constructed by Six Gosvamis are considered to be very important. Thousands of devotees visit these temples everyday to…

View original post 1,030 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s